Sreach:  
Home   |   About Us   |   Teaching Service   |   Students Affairs   |   Teacher Team   |   Academic Research   |   Academic Publications   |   Alumni
  About Us
 
General Introduction to the College
Department of Chinese Language and Literature
Department of Foreign languages and Literature
Research Center of Taiwan,Hong Kong and Overseas Chinese Literature
Center of Chaoshan Cultural Studies
Center for the New Studies of Chinese Culture
Institute of Chinese Language and Culture
Center for Global Studies
Center for Women Studies
Center for Overseas Examinations
Center for Religious Culture Studies
 
 
 
Students Enrollment and Employment
Chinese Literature
Academic Conference
Teachers Reception Day
Forums on Humanities and Culture
Download Area
 
 
  Department of Foreign languages and Literature
 

As an academic discipline, English major in the department of Foreign Languages and Literature at Shantou University provides students with the opportunity to study British and American literature, cultural issues, and the English language within a major of flexible course design, cultivating their reading, writing, speaking, critical thinking, and interpretative skills with professional guidance and assiduity.

English in this Department is no longer an attachment to any other disciplines such as economics, tourism, or foreign trade as it used to be, for attachment never gains recognition in history. In this department, English major receives the same curricular planning in its undergraduate program as those in first-class foreign universities, which emphasizes on both cultural awareness and professional knowledge.
 
Our teaching staff has been greatly expanded with the coming of 3 special professors from abroad since the educational reform in Shantou University in 2002. Currently there are now 5 professors, 5 associate professors; 5 doctors, 4 of whose doctoral degrees are awarded by foreign universities, and another 3 doctoral candidates. So far, we have 3 academic works published by foreign presses in literature, cultural studies, and linguistics since 2003.
 
Our diversified faculty spans a variety of interests and stands out in some research areas in China, such as Chinese American literature, cultural communication, English-to-Chinese language mode, and etc. We adopt a student-centred interactive teaching mode, where students are encouraged to participate in the creation of knowledge for their spontaneity and creativity are highly activated in this process. Knowledge, in our understanding, would not be itself without creativity but merely data and facts.
 
Our English undergraduate program has two orientations: applied linguistics and English language, literature, and Culture. It re-designs its undergraduate courses according to those in famous universities, both home and abroad, with an aim to cultivate out of its students a compound-talent of both practical ability of English interpretation, translation, cross-culture communication, and theoretical foundation in literature and translation studies. Therefore, our graduates boast a sound theoretical understanding in linguistics, translation studies, and literature, an independent spirit of critical thinking and originality, and practical capability.
 
Methods and abilities trainings are prioritized in our teaching. Explorations on students’ greatest potentialities in oral and written English capabilities and creativity are guaranteed through with a pedagogy featuring students’ dominance in study and modern information technology, and our domestic and international exchanges and cooperation in linguistics, translation studies, and English literature. Graduates are competent for the work of management, translation and interpretation, teaching and research in various fields such as governments, trans-nationals, banks, tourism, foreign trade, publishers, colleges, etc. Moreover, our new program design, which takes English an independent discipline in its own right, turns out to be a platform of postgraduate study for our graduates.
 
The department offers MA degree in English Language and Literature with a teaching and research team of 15 people, of which there are 5 professors, 5 associate professors and one international teacher with doctoral degree in English constantly. This team has 5 doctoral-degree holders and 3 doctoral candidates, which is the most decorated on undergraduate level in domestic universities.
 
With the support of the “Li Ka Shing Foundation” and the university, this department invites renowned scholars from Cambridge University, University of Berkley, and other Chinese academic institutes, to give lectures on linguistics, British and American literature, and cross-cultural studies annually, bringing the academic cutting edge to the department. Through these exchanges, our students have also received positive comments from those scholars.
 
Works by well-known British and American authors from Chaucer to Dickens to Carol Churchill, and from Melville to T. S. Eliot to Kingston will be introduced to our English majors, and courses offered covering fields from medieval to renaissance culture, from romanticism to modernism, from literary theory (literary criticism), cultural globalization, mass media, translation studies, business communication, art of films, to linguistics (lexicology, semantics, rhetoric). Co-developments of both orientations of this program, namely, applied linguistics and English language, literature, and literature, bring the best out of each other.
 
Program planning in our department gives students freedom to choose courses and orientation suited to their own intellectual interests. Such a flexible curricular plan allows students to engage in new subjects, at the same time, requires students to define and deepen their individual interests in a meaningful sequence of related courses. For that reason, our program encourages each undergraduate to work closely with a faculty advisor. Moreover, together with the other departments in Shantou University, the Department of Foreign Languages and Literature fully support our students to change their majors in their interests.
 
Committed to the symbiotic relationship between teaching, research and the larger concerns of society, Department of English Language and Literature has been improving itself in course design and program planning, so as to cater to the construction and development of English as a discipline, as well as internationalization of the university. In the same vein, a brand new area of study--Asian American Literature/ Cultural Studies—is to be added to our curriculum.
      
On the basis of intra-curricular accomplishment, students in the Department are encouraged to select courses offered by other departments to enlarge their horizon and prepare them for future success. With an proud pass rate of TEM 8 way above the national average, most of our graduates find satisfying jobs of their interests; while quite a few graduates choose to pursue graduate studies, the results of which turns out to be exciting as well.
 
Postgraduate Program
 
English Language and Literature (Code: 050201)
 
This discipline started its joint MA program in 1995 with a current academic team of 8 professors and 20 associate professors, among whom there are 6 doctoral-degree holders and 20 master-degree holders. Publications of this team amount to 8 academic works, 15 textbooks and more than 50 theses. Such a serious, experienced, and devoted academic staff guarantees the theoreticalness, practicality, and updatedness in its program design. A rich library and advanced multi-media technologies further ensure the cultivation of high-level English professionals, who are sound in theoretical and professional knowledge, well-informed in disciplinary development, independent in academic research, competent for teaching English in universities and colleges and various trans-national activities and management, dignified in cultural awareness, and insightful in vision---talents that meet the economic construction and social development of China.

检索词:
学院首页 学院介绍 教学服务 学生事业 学术团队 学术研究 学术刊物 校友情谊
  学院介绍
 
   学院概况
   中国语言文学系
   外国语言文学系
   台港与海外华文研究中心
   潮汕文化研究中心
   新国学研究中心
   中国语言文化学院
   全球研究中心
   妇女研究中心
   海外考试中心
   基督教研究中心
 
 
 
招生就业 华文文学
学术会议 教师接待日
人文论坛 资源下载
 
 
  外国语言文学系
 

     作为一门独立的学科,汕头大学外语系英语专业为学生提供学习英美文学、文化以及英语语言的良好机会。英语专业的课程设置不拘一格、灵活机动,为学生在听说读写译等各个方面提供一丝不苟的专业化的学业指导,并注重培养学生的批判性和创造性思维以及分析问题的能力与技巧。123456

     我们不认为英语专业是任何专业(经济、旅游、外贸等)的附属,因为历史从来不给附属以地位,因此汕头大学英语专业的课程设置将参照国外一流大学的本科培养计划,注重学生人文素质的培养和专业知识的熏陶。

     自从2002年汕头大学的教育改革实施以来,外语系的师资队伍得到了有力的充实。自2002年9月起,本学科先后从国外特聘三名教授,加强学科建设;英语专业现有教授5人,5位博士中获得国外博士学位者4人(文学2人,传播学1人,语言学1人),目前在读博士3人。具有副教授职称者5人。自2003至今,本学科在国外出版文学、文化研究、语言学等英文专著3本。汕头大学英语本科的师资配置是国内一流,并初步达到国际标准。

     我们的教师研究兴趣广泛,在某些领域的研究(如华裔美国文学、文化传播学和英汉语言模态等)处于国内一流。我们采用以学生为主互动式教学模式,充分调动学生在教学过程中的主动性和创造性,积极参与创造知识的过程,因为我们坚信,没有创造就没有知识—只有数据和事实。

     英语专业分应用语言学和英美语言文学及文化两个方向。本专业参照国内 外著名大学英语专业课程设置,重新设计本科 生 课程,旨在培养高级英语复合型人才,重点培养学生良好的口、笔译能力、跨文化交际能力和翻译、文学等方面的基本研究能力。具备一定的语言学、翻译学和文学理论知识,有独立思考能力和创新精神,具备良好的实际 工作 能力,是本专业毕业生的主要特点。

     本专业依托与国内外语言学、翻译学和英美文学界的交流合作,以学生为本,利用多媒体等现代化教学手段,采用启发式教学法,将方法训练和能力培养放在首位,充分发挥学生的个人潜能,最大限度地培养学生的口头和文字表达能力。毕业后能在国家机关、跨国集团公 司、银行、旅游、外贸、文化出版、大专院校等企事业单位从事管理、翻译、教学和研究工作。新的培养计划致力于将英语当作一门真正的学科发展,为有志于考研究生的同学创造一个腾跃的平台。

     外语系英语学科拥有英语语言文学硕士学位授权点,共有 15 名教师,其中,英语教授 5 人,英语副教授 5 人,常年聘任具有英语博士学位的外籍教师 1 人。教师中具有博士学位者 5 人,在读博士 3 人。本系投放到本科阶段的师资是全国大学最强的。

     在李嘉诚基金会和学校的支持下,外语系每年邀请剑桥大学、伯克利大学及国内学术机构的著名学者为师生举办语言学、英美文学、翻译及跨文化方面的讲座,保持学术研究的前瞻性。外语系学生的优异表现得到了国内外专家的充分肯定。

     汕头大学英语系的学生会学到从乔叟到狄更斯到丘吉尔,从梅尔维尔到爱略特到汤亭亭等等英美著名作家的作品。我们的培养计划涵盖从中世纪到文艺复兴,从浪漫主义到现代主义,从文学理论(文学批评)、文化全球化、大众媒体、翻译理论、商务交际、电影艺术、到语言学(词汇学、语义学、修辞学)等专业领域。两大方向之间相互渗透,相得益彰。

     学生可以根据自己的兴趣或专长选择适合自己的课程和专业方向。我们鼓励学生站在全球化的高度,拓宽视野,敢为人先。我们同时也要求学生在自己感兴趣的相关领域里认真探索,深入研究,精益求精。为了实现这一目标,我们为每一位学生精心安排了专业化的学生指导老师。学生和导师密切配合,使学生能够更出色地完成自己的学业。另外,汕头大学外语系与我校其他系一样,欢迎并支持学生转专业,外语系不对学生转转业设置任何障碍。

     外语系一贯注重于教学科研与社会需求的紧密关系,不断更新完善自己的课程设计和培养计划,以满足外语学科的建设与发展,以及汕头大学尽快实现国际化的使命。为此,我们将开设全新的课程系统——亚裔美国文学/文化研究。

     外语系鼓励学生认真掌握自己专业的特点和完成本专业的学分要求,同时要求学生选修自己感兴趣的外系的课程,拓宽知识面,能成功地面向未来,走向社会。英语专业8级考试通过率远远超过全国平均通过率。绝大部分毕业生都找到了符合自己兴趣或专长的工作。还有相当多的毕业生选择考研深造,成功率同样令人鼓舞。

硕士点专业介绍

英语语言文学(学科代码:050201)
     英语语言文学专业1995年开始联合招收和培养硕士研究生,现有教授8人,副教授20人,其中博士学位获得者6人,硕士学位获得者20人,近年来已发表专著8部,教材15本和论文50余篇。学术造诣深厚,治学严谨,经验丰富。课程设置具有理论性、实践性和前沿性。有丰富的藏书和先进的多媒体计算机设备,以培养适应我国经济建设和社会发展需要的,拥有坚实的基础理论和系统的专门知识,了解本学科的研究现状和动向,具有独立从事学术研究的能力,胜任高校英语教学、各类涉外活动和管理工作,有高贵人文情怀和开阔国际视野的高层次英语专门人才。